Plenty of sites say "free". Fewer mean free for a dealer, for good. Here is what each one actually offers a UK independent, how your cars get on, and where the buyer ends up.
Local Car Sales lists independent UK dealers’ stock free, permanently: no car limit, no commission, no per-car fee. Your cars are indexed from your own website or stock feed, and buyers click straight through to you. Carsnitch is also free for dealers, Motavo is free until 31 December 2026, and MotorHype’s free adverts last 14 days. Facebook Marketplace and Gumtree’s free adverts are for private sellers, not dealers.
| Site | Free for a dealer? | How your cars get on | Where the buyer goes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Local Car SalesYour whole stock, no car limit, no commission and no per-car fee. Claim your listing to add a verified badge and your details. | Yes, permanently | Indexed automatically from your website or stock feed | Your own website |
| CarsnitchSays it takes no advertising money from dealers; it earns from finance introductions instead. | Yes | Not stated | Your own website |
| MotavoA launch offer of unlimited free adverts; pricing after 2026 is not published. | Until 31 December 2026 | Added by hand in your account | Your advert, or your site |
| MotorHypeLonger adverts and dealer packages are paid, per advert. | Free adverts last 14 days | Added by hand | You, directly |
| MobeoIts "always free" promise names private sellers; dealer terms are not published. | Free to list | Bulk listing tools | Messages through the site |
| CarGurusDealer listing packages are arranged through an enquiry form. | No price published | Not stated | Leads through CarGurus |
| Facebook MarketplaceSince 30 January 2023 UK dealers cannot list vehicles from a business Page; Meta offers paid inventory ads instead. | Not for dealers | — | — |
| GumtreeFree ads are for private sellers with one car. Dealers use Gumtree Pro, a paid contract. | Not for dealers | Daily feed (paid) | Your advert |
| eBay MotorsBusiness sellers pay a fee for every car listed, plus a fee when it sells. | No | Added per car | Your eBay advert |
| Drive MartEach listing moves onto a paid plan after the trial. | A short trial per car | By hand, CSV or API | You, directly |
Taken from each site’s own pages on 26 September 2026. Offers change, so check the terms with them before you sign up.
Is it free for a dealer, or for a private seller? Several "free" offers are written for someone selling one car. List trade stock as a private seller and the account can be closed.
Is it free for good, or for now? Launch offers and free trials end. Look for an end date, or a price after the first few days.
Where does the buyer end up? A listing that sends buyers to your own website builds your business. One that keeps the enquiry on the platform builds theirs.
If your stock is on your own website, it has probably been indexed already. Claim your listing to add your details and a verified badge. Free, permanently.
Claim your free listing →